Colors

  1. Red. Red is the color of my lips when I wear my favorite lipstick because it makes me feel sexy and confident and badass. Red is the color of my lips when I kiss someone because I kiss with passion and fervor. Red is the color of my the color of my lips when I chew on them and bite them because it’s a bad habit. Red is the color of my lips when I cry because I don’t know why, actually. It just happens. Red is the color of my lips.
  2. Pink. Pink is the color my tongue when I stick it out at people because I like to make funny faces. Pink is the color of my cheeks when I blush because I’m easily flattered and embarrassed. Pink is the color of the veins in my eyes when I’m tired because I always stay up too late reading. Pink is the color of my nose when it’s cold because that just happens too. Pink is the color of my facial features.
  3. Black. Black is the color of my hair whenever because my parents gave me this hair that is always way too hot in the summer. Black is the color of my eyes because my parents gave me these eyes that are such a common color but I actually really like how they look in the light. Black is the color of all the little moles that I have all over my skin because my skin decided to have them and I think they’re cute weird freckles. Black is the color of my eyelashes that I always get in my eyes and I really don’t know and it’s super annoying because I have glasses!
  4. Blue. Blue is the color of my veins when I can see them through my skin. Blue is the color of the veins on the back of my hands and the insides of my wrists. Blue is the color of my veins on my inner thighs because the skin is thinner there I guess? Blue is the color of the veins in my mouth and I see them when I floss. Blue is the color of my tongue when I eat blue raspberry candy, and let’s be honest, that flavor doesn’t exist but it’s still the best.
  5. I am all these colors. I am every color of the spectrum and more. Because let me tell you something, color doesn’t define a person. In this day and age, it does (even though it shouldn’t but until people of color have equal standing with people who are white it will continue to do so). I am a woman of color, and I am all these colors.
About periwinklenightshade

I am a university student who looks at the sky and speaks the first sentence that comes to her head - and each sentence is then the inspiration for writing. I have always wanted to be writer, and I hope my poetry prose will touch the hearts of my readers. And I hope that my activism speeches will bring out the fighting spirits of everyone who sees them. View all posts by periwinklenightshade

Leave a Reply

