Darling, please stay

Darling, please stay.

I know you are in a dark place right now, and I know that maybe you wish you weren’t alive. Maybe you wish you weren’t here and were never here. Maybe you think the world would be better off without you. But none of that is true. That’s only the dark place seeping into you and clouding your mind. That’s only what the world seems like to you right now.

And darling, I know you don’t think so, and maybe you don’t feel so…

But you are not the chill that you feel in your veins. You are not the steel weight caged within the ribs of your chest. You are not the dark spiral of negativity that occupies your mind. You are more than the sum of your parts, more than any of your worries and troubles.

Darling, if I could show you what I see, I would show you a lifetime.

I would show you everything that you have been through and everything you have yet to experience. You have countless chances and experiences ahead of you, and I beg you, please do not throw them all away. Because you deserve to have them. You deserve to live them. You deserve to live.

And darling, please stop telling yourself that you do not deserve to live. Because you do.

You deserve to live because you are alive, and that is the only reason anyone needs. So live, darling. Live. Grasp life with your fingertips if you have to, but grasp it and hold on. Let yourself see the realization of all your hopes and dreams. Let yourself do everything you ever wanted to do.

Because darling, I promise you. It gets better.

Maybe not now, or tomorrow, or this year, or even next year. Maybe not for a long time. But it will get better. It might take some hard work, and it might mean a few missteps along the way, but it will be so, so worth it. It will get better. The darkness you see all around you, that’s not going to be there forever. It’ll lighten and fade, and you’ll be able to move past it.

I won’t lie to you, darling. I won’t say that life is an easy path to take, and I won’t say that you’ll never feel sad or hurt ever again.

But life is so worth it. So please, don’t feel ashamed. Don’t hate yourself. Don’t hate life. Your experiences are what made you who you are, and I wouldn’t change them for the world. I wouldn’t change you for the world. Maybe you hate the scars on your wrists and thighs, but to me, they are proof that you are so much stronger than you think. Because they exist, so do you. You are alive in spite of them, and that means more than you know.

Darling, you are fire, perhaps dim now but with the potential to burn brighter and bigger than any fire that has ever come before you. You are mother nature and father sky. You are dragons and phoenixes and stars and galaxies all in one.
You are more than you know. You are worth so much. And I love you. I love you, I love you, I love you. So please stay. But not for me. No, stay for you. There is still time for things to become brighter. There is still time for the fire within you to rise from its sparks and coals and become an inferno, spreading warmth through your veins and taking the chill away from your heart.

Darling, there is still time, and it does get better. So stay, darling.

Stay.

About periwinklenightshade

I am a university student who looks at the sky and speaks the first sentence that comes to her head - and each sentence is then the inspiration for writing. I have always wanted to be writer, and I hope my poetry prose will touch the hearts of my readers. And I hope that my activism speeches will bring out the fighting spirits of everyone who sees them. View all posts by periwinklenightshade

Leave a Reply

