Let me write you a love poem

Let me try to put into words the depth of my feelings for you.

Let me try to show you the love in my eyes every time I look at you, the flutter in my heart when you speak to me, the air that leaves my lungs when you hold my hand.

Let me try to explain those weighted glances, the way I place my forehead on yours and bring you close with a hand on your neck.

Let me try to demonstrate the stupid amounts of affection I feel for you no matter what state you’re in, the deep-seated ache in me that wants nothing more than your happiness

Let me love you with all that I am.

Let me trace the lines of your eyes, lips, jaw with my fingertips.

Let me press fleeting kisses onto your collar bone because I know it makes you take a breath.

Let me trace patterns on your skin with the knuckles of my left hand while my right hand holds yours and let me fill in those gaps with

I love you and
you’re beautiful and
my heart is yours and
you are perfect

Let me cuddle you ever closer in the middle of the night even when it’s too warm

Let me be near you and let me care for you, to make sure you are happy and healthy and safe and whole

Let me love you
Even when every word I say, every thought that passes through my mind, every poem that I pen into ink
Means nothing

Because I could count galaxies in your eyes and find universes in your heart, but it would all mean nothing

Because I am not her and you will never love me like this

Because when you go home, you go home to thoughts of her, to pictures of your happy ending with her

Because my love for you stands no chance against your love for her

And even when it feels like my heart is breaking into a million pieces at every mention of her name
Let me love you in a way that she never will

Let me be there for you when your heart is breaking and your tears are threatening to fall

Let me take care of you and put you back together the best way I know, by taking each piece, showering it with love, tracing in the words that tell you what I love best about each and every part of you

Let me be the one you go to, even if it is as nothing more than a friend, because I will be content if you are happy

Let me love you
Even if my love doesn’t mean a thing

About periwinklenightshade

I am a university student who looks at the sky and speaks the first sentence that comes to her head - and each sentence is then the inspiration for writing. I have always wanted to be writer, and I hope my poetry prose will touch the hearts of my readers. And I hope that my activism speeches will bring out the fighting spirits of everyone who sees them. View all posts by periwinklenightshade

Leave a Reply

