Liquid Poison

Let me be your dinnertime sake, your midnight martini, your 3am coke and whiskey, your 10am Irish coffee
Let me be the taste on your lips, the burn in the pit of your stomach, the warmth that flows through your veins
Let me be the red flush of your skin, the fragile glass in your hand

Let me be your constant companion
Let me replace your liquid poison
Because I will sink into your body but I would never hurt you
Because I will take away your feelings of stress and hardship
Because I will heal you from the inside out

Let me be the calm that you feel, let me create that calm for you
And if you need not be calm, love get drunk off of me
Get drunk off of the taste of our lips together, the air that we share, the skin that touches as close as possible
Get drunk not off your poison but off our love

Because if you let me, I can be the happiness that replaces that poison
But love, you have to let me

Put down the glass

Put down the dinnertime sake, the midnight martini, the 3am coke and whiskey, the 10am Irish coffee

And let me be them for you
Because I will be there at dinnertime, at midnight, at 3am, at 10am
Because I will be everything that I can for you
Because I get drunk off of you

I get drunk off the taste of your skin, the sound of your heartbeat, the look in your eyes when you stare
I get drunk off the way that your breath quickens when I touch you, the way that you cuddle

Love, get drunk off of me
And put away your liquid poison

About periwinklenightshade

I am a university student who looks at the sky and speaks the first sentence that comes to her head - and each sentence is then the inspiration for writing. I have always wanted to be writer, and I hope my poetry prose will touch the hearts of my readers. And I hope that my activism speeches will bring out the fighting spirits of everyone who sees them. View all posts by periwinklenightshade

Leave a Reply

